2009 begins

Well, it occurs to me that I need to look at the new year as a time to begin my new life. D told me he didn’t want to be married to me any more in September, and that coincided with the Jewish new year. So I’m looking at that as the time between the Jewish new year and the secular new year as a transition time from married to, well, not married. The “licking my wounds” time. Now it’s 2009, and I’ve got to start making my new life. I pretty much don’t believe in new year’s resolutions, but I am using this time to set some goals:

1. Resurrect my home. I would really, really like to sell my house and buy something a little smaller with a lower-maintenance yard. The reality, though, is that this is not the best market in which to sell a house. And I can afford to stay there right now. So goal #1 is to make changes to my house to make it more comfortable for me, erase vestiges of “us” and replace them with elements of “me,” and to make the house more saleable when the time comes. I need to make the living room and family room warmer and stop hiding in the bedroom. Oh, and I want to do it by spending as little money as possible.

2. Lower my yard maintenance needs. Last year we hired a lawn service and paid $40/week for it. I don’t want to continue to do that, so I will have to take care of it myself. It’s a big yard. I really don’t want to use a gas-powered lawn mower, though. I object to the effect they have on the environment, for one thing, and I don’t like the noise and the motor. So I’m going to buy a reel mower and get myself a real workout to boot. But I also think that making the lawn lower maintenance by planting ground cover, etc. will be a good idea. Maybe a vegetable garden?

3. Get a dining room table. D took the table since it was his grandmother’s. Since then I’ve been using a Sam’s Club conference-type table – the kind you get out at Thanksgiving. And Sam’s Club card chairs (comfy but still card chairs). I put off buying a new set because I wasn’t going to buy something for this house when I’m not sure where I’m going to end up. Since the reality is that I could be in this house for another year or more, I think I need to just get something for the dining room. I want cheap, though, so I’m going to have to scout out thrift and resale shops.

4. Get my finances in order. Now that D and I have separated our money I will be able to budget my income and my expenses. For the month of January I’m going to track every nickel I spend and see where it all goes.

Well, that’s enough for now – we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creating a new life

Leave a Reply

