Divorce as a catalyst for change

Because I’m facing divorce after 30 years of marriage, I’ve been forced to reevaluate lots of things about me and what I thought was a lifelong commitment. That, I’m sure, is a given for anyone in this situation.

The reality, though, is that I’m also rethinking the way I did lots of things: spent money, ran my home, bought groceries…

Not that the way I did those things affected whether or not I would stay married.

It’s just that I’m taking this opportunity to become more thoughtful about the way I’ve been doing things. Everything. After thirty years of running of home with the same person, this monumental change is an opportunity for me to think about the way I do stuff.

I’m starting with becoming more cognizant about running my home in a green manner. I’ve always recycled, but now I’m looking at buying a push mower and installing a couple rainbarrels. And money – I’m becoming really careful about everything that I spend.

Over the next few weeks I’m really going to work on this transformation. What has divorce caused you to reevaluate?

Leave a comment

Filed under Creating a new life

Leave a Reply

