Divorce in the Age of Obama

the 44th President of the United States...Bara...
Image by jmtimages via Flickr

Barack Obama will be sworn in today. I will be watching in the gym with 300 middle-schoolers.

I’ve been thinking a little about what this means to me, a midlife divorcee.

In many ways, I see the change in America mirroring my change. Or is it my change in mind mirroring America’s? I don’t know. Whatever.

Today, as Obama takes over the reigns, I see an increased optimism in America. “Yes, we can.” An acknowledgement that the government – and its citizens – have made big mistakes but now see the need to change. An attitude that, while the road won’t be easy, the rewards are out there and we can get there. A fundmental belief that better times will come.

At Obama’s acceptance speech, he said, “This is our moment, this is our time…”

Mine, too.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a comment

Filed under Optimism, Transition

Leave a Reply

