Stayin’ Frugal

If you’ve been reading here for any time at all you realize that frugal spending is somewhat of an obsession of mine. I think it partially because I’m totally anxious about money and it’s also part of my whole taking charge of my life thing.

A big thanks to Glblguy for hosting this week’s Festival of Frugality. I haven’t had a chance to read all the articles but I really enjoyed The perqs of pinching pennies by Funny-About-Money.  It’s amazing how small changes make such a difference.

To that end, I’ve decided to take enough out of my savings to pay off my credit card this month. Now, that isn’t going to help much with my anxiety, since I’m sure that less money in the savings will mean more anxiety in me. But it just doesn’t make sense to continue to accrue finance charges when I’m getting bupkis (you know that means nothing, right? Not that it doesn’t mean anything, it means nothing. Makes sense?) from the savings account. And I’m just going to focus on looking at that zero balance in the credit card statement. It hasn’t been at zero since the summer, so I’m excited.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
1 Comment

Filed under Finances

One response to “Stayin’ Frugal

  1. Thanks for the mention.

    You’ll be amazed at how fast your savings rebuilds. Especially if you take the money you would have had to pay in finance charges and stick it into a savings account each month!

    If you can get into a credit union, look at opening a money market savings account. It doesn’t pay much interest (and you usually have to have a thousand bucks or so in there to start earning interest), but it’s better than bupkis!

Leave a Reply

