Valentine’s Day

hmmm. Not happy that V-Day is around the corner. Mr. Ex and I used to treat it as a pretty special day. We’d exchange cards, sometimes I got a special piece of jewelry, we would always go out for dinner or a show.heart

And this year, it’s Saturday, to boot. Y’know – date night.

The good news is that I’m going on an adult retreat with one of my daughters – nothing better than spending it doing something completely different than before. Unfortunately I’m the only single person going – I mean there will be people there without their spouses, but nobody else is single. Oh well; it will be a chance to spend some quality time with the kid, and maybe get something spiritual out of it all.

The other thing I’m going to do is write me a letter. A love letter. Seriously. You know the old saying that you need to love yourself before others will love you (or something like that). Here I am, coming off a long, long relationship where I thought I loved another person – and I thought he loved me. To be honest, losing that love has shaken my whole concept of love; what it really is, how you get it and how you give it.

It’s also made me wonder who I am, what I really like about myself and what I bring to the table.

So I figure the best place to start is with a love letter.

Dear me,…

What would you put in a love letter to yourself? What kinds of thing would you want it to say?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Comments

Filed under Singleness, Transition

2 responses to “Valentine’s Day

  1. Kaye

    I like the graphic – “my heart belongs to me.”

    This is the second year in a row that another single woman in my office has said to me, in a slightly martyred tone, “Well, Kaye, I’ll wish you a happy valentine’s day since you and I probably won’t have anyone else to do it for us.”

    I don’t get that! I’ve had some darn good valentine’s days in the past, and just because I don’t have a significant other to share this one with doesn’t throw me into despair. What is it about certain holidays that makes the media turn its magnifying glass on single folks and lay unwanted/false expectations on us?

  2. Debbie Harris

    Thanks for the compliment on my graphic!

    Your single colleague sounds like a friend of mine who calls me on a Saturday night and says, “I figured you would be home without anything to do tonight.”

    Excuse me? Most Saturday nights when I’m home it’s because I chose to be…

Leave a Reply

