The ring

What did you do with your wedding or engagement ring?

My wedding band is put away. Well, the second one is. In 2006 we had a little private vow-renewal (yeah, right) ceremony; just the two of us. We had new rings made that say “I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine” in Hebrew. They’re beautiful. That one is just tucked away in a box along with our wedding album and some other mementoes.

My original wedding band is on a chain in my older daughter’s jewelry box, along with Mr. Ex’s and my parents’ rings.

Engagement ring

Engagement ring

My engagement ring, though… That one I’m still wearing. I moved it to my right hand, but I’m wearing it. I’m not sure why, except that I love the ring, and it looks good when I have my nails done.

I offered the diamond to younger daughter for use in an eventual engagement ring. She seemed excited about it.

When I mentioned it at work today one of my colleagues asked if I thought it was bad luck. I dunno – we WERE married for 30 years… I kind of looked at it like it represented hope.

What do you think? Still wearing it? Give it away? Sell it?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Comments

Filed under Transition

3 responses to “The ring

  1. My diamond was Mr. Ex’s grandmother’s and in a moment of madness I gave the ring to my former sister-in-law (who had long coveted it). I don’t wish to pass it on to my children because, to me, it has bad karma. The first woman to have it died early and the second marriage (mine) was built on lies. But that’s just me. I’m still a little bitter.

  2. If you love it, I say wear it. It’s a beautiful ring, regardless.

  3. Debbie Harris

    Celticbuffy, Elizabeth – thanks so much for weighing in on this. I think I’m going to give them the diamond and have a different stone reset into the ring. As my younger daughter says, “sometimes you can make your own karma.”

Leave a Reply

