Oy! Six years!

So… my venerable therapist told me today that the rule of thumb (why do thumbs have rules anyway?) is that for every 5 years that you were in a serious relationship you should wait one year before you enter a new one. Follow me?

Um… that puts me at waiting 6 years before getting into a new relationship. Gag. I’ll almost be old enough for social security (well, not really, but it sounds more dire than, well, I’ll be 6 years older).

Do you get credit for good behavior? How about bad behavior? How could you speed it up? Would you want to speed it up?

So, by my calculations, if this is almost 6 months since Mr. Ex moved out, I’m now “over” a relationship that would have been 2.5 years. 2.5 years! That’s like a high school thing. A right-out-of-college thing. Blech.

What the hell am I supposed to do for the next 5.5 years?

3 Comments

Filed under Moving on

3 responses to “Oy! Six years!

  1. Carol

    A rule of thumb is a principle with broad application that is not intended to be strictly accurate or reliable for every situation (forgot to site the source – don’t report me!) So there. And who follows rules anyway?

  2. Debbie Harris

    Thanks, Carol – that’s why I love you so much – you can always put the right spin on things!

  3. I can honestly say that I don’t know any divorced or recently broken-up person that has followed that particular piece of advice. It seems that most I know have been in a new relationship within a year. I say go with what your heart tells you.

Leave a Reply

