“Spiritual but not religious…”

What does that mean?

I’m doing what’s one of my favorite Saturday-morning activities; perusing JDate and Match…

Or, as I like to think of them, online mantalog shopping…

I haven’t “bought” yet, although I did “wink” at someone today. Weird.

Anyway, on Match, instead of posting a religion you can say you’re “spiritual but not religious.”

Any idea how many men list that? What does that mean? That they meditate? Talk to God but not in a church or synagogue? Hang with the Dalai Lama?

Gotta be honest – I have just not met that many people who are spiritual outside of being religious. Perhaps I’m spending time in the wrong places. Obviously they’re not in synagogue if they’re not religious, I suppose.

Am I interested in someone who’s SBNR? Is that okay? Do I date someone who is? When I was younger (ahem, much younger), I wouldn’t consider dating someone who wasn’t Jewish because I knew that I wasn’t interested in marrying someone who wasn’t Jewish. But is that the case now? I mean, it’s not like I’m worried about having Jewish kdis (been there, done that). But how important are holidays, shared backgrounds, common history? Even at my age?

2 Comments

Filed under Dating

2 responses to ““Spiritual but not religious…”

  1. gabiedenise

    Bonjour! lol! I understand what you are saying. I am guilty of saying that I am spiritual but not religious. I’ve said that because when I think of religion, I think of what the world is fighting over, which is who is and who is not the right God to serve as well as being routine with just going to church every (you fill in the blank) and doing things religiously. I feel as though I don’t have a religion, even though I was raised Baptist and am now non-denominational, but I feel I have a relationship with GOD. He and I communicate on a level spirtiually. When people ask me so what is your religion? I will mostly likely say…Oh no I have a relationship that I am working on each day. I really hope that I was clear in what I am trying to tell you. LOL! If not…I apologize! 🙂

  2. Debbie Harris

    No – I get it! Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

