I’ve discovered the key to doing home repairs

I’ve been a crafter my whole life. I love to buy new craft toys, play at Michael’s, Hobby Lobby or Joann Fabric… The Internet changed my crafting life by exposing me to new ways of seeing and doing things.

This is it – the key to doing home repair. I just have to look at it the same way I look at crafting. Here’s what I found:

1. doing home repairs give me an excuse to buy new tools and play with new materials.

2. If you think of Home Depot as just another craft store, it’s way less threatening. It even has a cutting station, just like Joann.

3. Google anything, anything at all – you’ll find somebody on the Internet showing you how to do it.

4. Crafters have that “it’s more fun to do it myself” mentality. Just like home handypeople!

5. Doing my own home repairs takes advantage of my artistic ability, too. My heart just sang when I read that good grouting is more about artisitic ability than home repair skill. YES!

See ya later – I’m off to Home Depot (again!).

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Comments

Filed under Creating a new life, Empowerment, Finances, Fixing stuff, Haven for one

2 responses to “I’ve discovered the key to doing home repairs

  1. Kaye

    You go, girl!

    I used to think if I could just find a book that described it, I could do anything. YouTube is much better.

    I replaced the porch light in my 70-year-old house soon after I moved in, just to prove I could do it. Since then, though, I’ve hired an electrician for everything else.

  2. Debbie Harris

    Thanks Kaye! I’m not sure I’m up to replacing a porch light yet!

Leave a Reply

