Is it me? Is it you? Is it you?

More thoughts about online dating (I’m sorry – do I look obsessed?) . . .

I’ve decided that the only way to be successful – or, at least, to stay sane while doing it – is to not take it personally. Seriously. I mean, how personal can it be if someone doesn’t email you back based on 667 words that you write about yourself (no, I didn’t count them; I copied them in MS Word, and Word counted them)? What exactly are they rejecting? And could it be any more superficial? Match tells you to put down your favorite color. OMG – what if my perfect match rejects me because I love purple?

And how limiting are the things that you put down? For instance, let’s say I put down that I’m looking for a man who’s 48 – 63. Well, what if Mr. Perfect turned 64 last month? Will he look at that and think to himself, well, just forget it – I’m too old for her?

And now, for another question. Is it a problem for me to be making the first contact? Are men my age old-fashioned and think they have to be the ones to initiate? If that’s the case, I might as well hang it up here.

The pressure. How do you craft the perfect online profile to attract the interest of the perfect man?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Comments

Filed under Online dating

2 responses to “Is it me? Is it you? Is it you?

  1. Kaye

    Would you even WANT someone who was old fashioned enough to resist initial contact? You may be weeding out potential problems from the outset! Not enlightened enough to accept a flirt from a woman? Out with you!

  2. Debbie Harris

    Kaye – you always manage to put things in perspective! Absolutely – out, out!

Leave a Reply

