More on moving or no moving . . .

I’ve spent a lot of time the past few days thinking about whether or not I want to put my house up for sale (and, well, I obviously haven’t been spending it blogging).

I have two really good reasons for wanting to move. The first is that I’d like to live closer to Eldest. I only live about 15-20 minutes away now, which certainly isn’t insurmountable, but I would like to live closer. That would also put me significantly closer to the synagogue, which would make a difference as well. The other reason is that I could probably save some money every month if I sell the house and buy something a little smaller and, hopefully, less expensive. And, of course, now is a good time to find a bargain.

There are quite a few downsides to selling right now, though. The first is that the current value of the home isn’t much more than what I owe. So in order to buy something else I would have to take money from my modest inheritance to buy something else. And that’s assuming that I can sell at all, of course. But before I could even sell the house there are numerous problems that need to be addressed. Mr. Ex has been promising me for years and years that he would fix the damage to the two ceilings from when our roof leaked and finish the floor and door molding that he never finished. And somewhere there’s a leak over Youngest’s bedroom. I don’t think it’s the roof, but I’m guessing that there’s a good chance that it’s from the attic fan that doesn’t work right now. Besides the necessary repairs, there’s the issue of the packed (and I mean packed) shed and the stuff that’s still filling up the garage.

And, my guess is that, if I am able to sell the house, I would end up buying another home and moving during the school year, which leaves me pretty cold.

And then there’s the stress. The stress of getting the house ready and keeping it in showing condition (and don’t forget I’ve got those dogs – how are they going to feel about having to keep the house clean?).

So, if I’m not going to sell, I have to like living here more. I can’t change where the house is, but I have to change the house. This house isn’t going to do anything to make me like it more, so I need to do it for both of us. Areas I need to address:

  • The repairs have to be made, whether I’m selling the house or not
  • I need to feel nurtured in the house
  • I need to be able to think “moving forward” when I’m in the house, not of what was

Plans I have:

  • Paint everywhere and take down the wallpaper in the front entry
  • get rid of the old Ikea chairs in the living room
  • get new drapes for the living room
  • take down the Ikea shelf in the living room
  • relocate the items in the filing cabinet in the kitchen and get rid of the cabinet
  • paint the table and chairs that are in the dining room
  • paint move the cabinet from the craft room to under the TV
  • new window treatments in the dining/family room
  • get rid of the medicine cabinet in the downstairs bath and replace it with a mirror; get rid of the large cabinet that’s in the bathroom. Do something with the shower to pretty it up. Paint or replace the utility closet doors
  • replace the family room couch with something friendlier
  • clean out the office
  • redo the upstairs bath to Paris apartment
  • new drapes for my bedroom

Possibilities, depending on how much I want to spend, are:

  • raise the ceiling over the living room, breakfast room and kitchen
  • add a sunroom

Yikes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creating a new life, Moving on, Singleness

Leave a Reply

