Entertaining…

I realized recently that one of the casualties of my divorce (which, by the way, becomes final on August 17th) is entertaining. Mr. Ex and I were consummate entertainers. It was not unusual for us to have company every weekend during the summer – usually our very good friends and their kids (um, that would be my former very good friend whom I now know is more than very good friends with Mr. Ex, but I digress). We would sit on the patio, build a fire; you know the routine.

I loved it. I loved every element of it – planning the menu, preparing the food, setting the stage.

And now I don’t do it any more. I have had very little company since Mr. Ex moved out. And mostly it’s been my kids, or some very good friends.

I guess part of it is that for some time I just didn’t feel like partying. But I think there’s more; it’s the whole “that’s what we used to do as a couple” mentality. It’s the accompanying memories. It’s the platters we received as gifts. It’s the “now I’m alone” thing staring you in the face. It’s the “do you invite couples?” or “do you invite a bunch of single women – does that sound like fun?” thing.

I’m a social person. I like to be with friends. I like to be a hostess. This has been a huge part of my life. How do I get it back?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Comments

Filed under Creating a new life, Moving on, Singleness

2 responses to “Entertaining…

  1. montrealbabe

    Speaking personally, it took 2 years for the desire to entertain came back and I would invite my friends – couples etc. except – the cook and cleaner is gone. Since you have always been the cook and cleaner, you will do it again – maybe a “new house” warming?

  2. montrealbabe

    2 entries in one day!!!!! Revival has come. Praise the Lord on this holiday.

Leave a Reply

