Oldest established, permanent floating…

Guys and Dolls
Image by Eda Cherry via Flickr

I got a couple extremely angry emails today from Mr. Ex. Seems he’s found out about my little journal here, and he was not a happy camper. And, of course, it’s weird that I’m writing this knowing that he may be reading it.

It was never my intent to embarrass or anger him, and I regret that. I spent a couple hours editing past posts to eliminate the, well, more unflattering references to him and his family. I mean, I know that stuff is out there now – and I can’t take back what people have read, but that was the best I could do.

But I’m in a tough spot here. I don’t really want to stop blogging. I enjoy it, and I enjoy the feedback I get. But I’m worried that this is going to change what I write, and that I’m going to be second-guessing myself too much. It also kind of creeps me out that he may be reading about my forays into dating-ville and stuff like that. Hmmm…not sure what to do.

I called a blog-reading girlfriend to discuss my dilemma. My options are to (a) bag the blog, (b) practice blog censure or (c) bag this blog and create a new blog. I joked that the blog would have to turn into a floating blog, much like Nathan Detroit’s crap game in Guys and Dolls.

Why it’s good old reliable Nathan!
Nathan, Nathan, Nathan, Detroit!
If you’re looking for action, his firm is the spot.
Even when the heat is on, it’s never too hot.
Not for good old reliable Nathan!
Where it’s always just a short walk
To the oldest established, permanent floating,
Crap game in New York

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
6 Comments

Filed under Regrets

6 responses to “Oldest established, permanent floating…

  1. Jet

    Wait! I just found your blog, you can’t leave now. 😉 I imagine feeling censored in what you write will take some of the joy out of it though.

  2. Carol

    Not sure if I am seeing sit-com material, tragedy..or what. Indeed this is a tangled “web”…..Maybe you should just go and buy a new couch.
    You know how I always say, “I want to be you”? Right now, I am not sure what I would do if I were.
    No choking….or is it no joking?

  3. montrealbabe

    I think you should be beyond caring what he thinks. What I enjoy about your blog is your writing style and wit – he should lighten up. I wouldn’t change 1 thing – you have never maligned him with untruths and if the truth stings, so be it.

  4. ItalianGirl

    Please don’t stop the blog! Finding out about his first affair didn’t stop him from having more… You are free and do not need to report to him. If he doesn’t like the blog, he shouldn’t read it. The truth hurts sometimes, he needs to face that fact.

    When I read your blog, I find myself shaking my head in agreement, remembering how I felt when I divorced in 1993!

  5. Joni

    I just checked in, to see if you had blocked it as we discussed. I am glad to see you shared our knowledge of musical theater– Susie would be so proud. Keep on blogging. You are a thoughtful and gifted writer and I enjoy reading what you write. I wish I had something to write about that I felt someone would care to read. Grading papers and planning English grammar and writing is just not going to gather a dedicated readership! You should keep it up as long as you enjoy doing it!

Leave a Reply

