Redecorating

I realize that my recent foray into having the house redecorated was symbolic of getting through becoming divorced.

This is the first time that I’ve ever done anything like this. I mean, I choke a little every time I think of the money I spent (and, of course, start to think of all the other things I could’ve done with that money…), but the payoff is pretty good.

First there were the “have-tos.” Ceilings HAD to be fixed, and, unfortunately, in some cases they had to be completely replaced (yikes). Door frames had to be repaired.

Then there were the “really need-to-dos.” Walls to be repainted. Shelves taken down. TV moved.

Finally, there were the “nice-to-dos,” the “since you’re spending money anyway…why nots?” That includes the new light switches and the new stair rail (which necessitated the new carpet on the stairs…).

So, after about three weeks (which, in retrospect seems like no time at all, but while it was going on seemed like decades), I have a new looking house, with brand new ceilings that DON’T have acoustical tile glued to them (yes, that is what we lived with for 17 years), pretty things and a more minimalist look (because my contractor REFUSED to put the pot rack and book shelves back up).

(me) But I like my pot rack. I have lots of pots.

(him) You want a pot rack or do you want to sell your house?

Just like getting divorced, there are the things you have to do, the things you should do, and the things you want to do.

And sometimes it takes you a little while to get around to doing them all. But that’s okay. I did this in my own time (and, for the first time in my life, my own way).

And, now… the pictures have to go back up, the furniture can be rearranged, and, maybe… new drapes?

3 Comments

Filed under Creating a new life

3 responses to “Redecorating

  1. Congratulations! Feels good, doesn’t it?

  2. suzy

    Wow! I’m glad you did this. Perhaps it will push me harder to do the things I need to do around my own house.

  3. coolmathteacher

    Definitely new drapes!!

Leave a Reply

