Oy – major purchases are not what they used to be

There it was, waiting for me on the front stoop as I pulled into the driveway.

It’s big.

It’s green.

I needed to put it together. We’re going to be spending lots of time together.

It’s a lawnmower.

With all the deliberation that one uses to purchase an automobile, I finally decided to buy a manual (as in no gas – people propelled) mower. A push mower, as it is. No gas, no fumes, no messing with a motor. Just like the Beaver and Wally used to use.

Well, sort of.

They’ve come a long way. They’re lighter, to start with. And easy to maintain.

And, gosh-darn-it, easy to use.

And major kudos to the folks at Amazon. I ordered it Tuesday. It qualified for super saver shipping, which supposedly is the slowest. In the spirit of saving money, I went for the free shipping, not worrying about how fast it would get here. I mean, how quickly do I want to start mowing anyway?

It shipped Wednesday.

It got here today.

Glad I didn’t spring for next-day shipping.

I had to put it together, which went very quickly, even though the directions weren’t laid out well. I couldn’t find the part that told me how to actually attach the handle to the mower, so I found a photo that showed me where it went. I’d say it took me 10 minutes to assemble it.

Then, of course, I had to take it outside to try it out.

I was kind of excited. A little worried I’d look ridiculous.

So I went in the backyard, where it’s less likely that I’ll be witnessed.

I pushed it in the corner of the yard, where it’s kind of sparse anyway.

It makes a kind of zen (seriously) sound. The noise is the blades scraping against the cutting deck, or something like that. No motor sound.

After I did the little corner, I thought, well, let’s go for it.

Less than an hour later I was in the house making dinner. And the entire backyard was mowed.

Tomorrow I’ll do the front.

And I will have saved $35.00, which is what I was paying the lawn service every week. And not contributed to destroying the environment.

I guess I’ve come pretty far from someone who, in October 2008, bought a bookcase simply because it featured the magic words, “no assembly required.”

4 Comments

Filed under House and home

4 responses to “Oy – major purchases are not what they used to be

  1. Joni

    Awesome. Remember when we assembled my new stereo, about 25 years ago, without any assistance from the male element? That was when it came in at least 5 boxes, with many, many cords. We were soooo proud then. You have guts girlfriend!

  2. Suzy

    You rock. Really.

  3. coolmathteacher

    one word – impressive!!!

  4. Carey

    Did you get the grass catcher? How did the front go?

Leave a Reply

