The greening continues

Green updates: The compost bin is assembled and sitting in its corner of the yard. Wow. Me composting… I can’t believe how excited I am to have stuff rotting in my yard.

I ordered – and received in two days – two collapsible rain barrels from Woodland Direct. Unfortunately, they didn’t send me the diverter kits that were supposed to be included. Um, I can’t use ’em if I can’t divert the water from the downspout into the barrel. I’m excited, though, to be starting my rainwater saving. It mostly started because of my frugality (didn’t want to pay a bigger water bill) and because the idiots who built my house didn’t think it would be important to put a water spigot in the back. Really…why would you want a water spigot where the yard is? I have one on the side of the house, but that’s on the outside of the gate, which is locked from the OUTSIDE because I have a highly intelligent border collie who know how to open the gate (really). So, in order to use the water I have to go in the house, walk through the house, go out the front door, open the gate, make sure the dogs don’t get out… not worth it. I’ve been shlepping water in a watering can from the laundry room (which actually is only a few steps from the back door, but then there’s the whole spilling of water as I carry the heavy can…) so I’m excited to use rainwater. And I understand rainwater has the added benefit of being better for plants; it’s softer (which I’m sure is true in my case since I have very hard water), and it’s freeeeeeeeee.

I chose collapsible barrels because I will easily be able to store them over the winter, rather than leave them outside to possibly crack. I put them together with no problem. I’m a little nervous about installing the diverter kits, but I’ll ask a man for help if necessary.

Hypertufa…

Do you know what hypertufa is? It’s a combination of cement, perlite and peat moss. You mix it all up, add water till it feels like (ew) cottage cheese and then mold it into planters and stuff like that. It’s going to be my summer project; learning how to use it and make stuff out of it. It appeals to me because it has a lovely, rustic quality about it; it’s a little different; and the materials aren’t expensive. Of course I mentioned it to some colleagues, who all want to come play in the mud, so I thought, once I get good at using it, I’ll host concrete camp (it’s technically not concrete, but I like the alliteration). I’ll serve a mud-inspired cuisine; mudslides, Oreo mud pie… Go ahead; Google it – it’s cool.

What I’m reading right now – thank you to my adorable younger daughter who sent me the link to The Jew and the Carrot. What a great blog!

3 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Healing through crafting

3 responses to “The greening continues

  1. Noreen

    I’m up for “hypertufa-ing” !!!!!!

  2. Jean

    I am so enjoying your blog “Coffee For 1” and the events of day. I too have been composting after many years in the city, never thought I’d compost in my backyard, but it sure is great and a lot less expensive to reconstitute the garden and watch the garden grow. I’ve become a rainwater harvester as well and wait each month for that “water bill” to see how far I’ve come in conserving the potable water while washing my truck, dog, lawn furniture, patio, house windows, clean up my garden tools & pots as well as watering the garden, flowers, and hanging baskets. I’ve learned how important it is to keep my rain gutters clean all year long so the rainwater flows freely and cleaner, while eliminating mosquitoes from breeding in stagnant water left in the gutters from a hard rain. Searched the Internet and found a pvc tool that is lightweight and easy to use as it fastens to my wet/dry vac and actually vacuums out all gutter debris, that I then empty into my compost pile or around my plants for an extra layer of mulch. Its called a Gutter Clutter Buster and is an attachment tool for the vac. I save additional money each time I use it and it is so safe I never worry about falling from a ladder as my feet never leave the ground while I’m cleaning my gutters. I am so pleased not to have those nasty disease breeding mosquitoes hanging around the yard anymore, as well. Can’t wait for your next entry to as your garden grows. Have a wonderful, fruitful, and pleasant summer. God bless. Your devoted reader.

  3. Deb,
    Rain barrels can be deceptively simple, yes? It seems a simple concept–put out a large container to catch the rain–but gets trickier with directing where the water should go when you empty them.

    We put four barrels in the backyard to stop the basement from flooding. Thank heavens it works unless there’s a heavy rain (like this year.)

Leave a Reply

